Inkberry Books logo
Inkberry Books
Cottonwood Shopping Center
7960 Niwot Road
Suite B-3
Niwot, CO 80503
(720) 412-1548
color="#610b7d"            Home      






About Us      







Events      







Contact Us






New, gently used & out-of-print books for readers of all ages.

First Friday in Niwot: September 6, 2019
Join us on Friday, September 6th from 6:00-8:00 for an exhibit and reception featuring the work of Laurie Balliett.
       




About the Artist



Laurie Celine Balliett conveys her excitement about living in astounding places with her contemporary landscapes. Her expressive representational paintings evoke passion about nature. Laurie began painting in college while studying environmental philosophy. An extended trip to Taos in 2009 propelled her into painting plein-air landscapes. When not painting outside on location, she paints in the studio, where she blends the memory of her emotion in the environment, with her intuitive sense of color harmony and composition. Her canvases present her passion about nature and wild places, while sometimes bringing in evidence of human existence. She is the 4th great granddaughter of the Hudson River School Painter, Jasper Francis Cropsey.

Laurie has exhibited in New Mexico, Colorado, and Massachusetts and her paintings hang on collectors’ walls in St. Maarten (Deutsch), Canada, California, Texas, New Jersey, Colorado, Massachusetts, Connecticut, Vermont, and New Mexico. She grew up in Texas and Colorado, and as a child spent summers in West Cornwall, Connecticut. Before going to Mount Holyoke College, Laurie moved from Colorado to the art colony, Provincetown, Massachusetts, on Cape Cod. Since then, she has lived in New Mexico, Vermont, Colorado, and Cape Cod, Massachusetts where she still returns to paint. In 2013 Laurie moved to Taos, New Mexico where she found solace in painting and writing for over five years. She now lives in Boulder, Colorado.

Exhibitions

2019 Taos Center for the Arts Juried Solo Show, The Taos Historic Inn January - May.
2018 Farmhouse Cafe and Gallery solo show, January - March
2017 Millicent Rogers Museum Miniature show, January-February, Taos, NM
2016 Farmhouse Cafe and Gallery solo show, December 2016 - February 2017
2016 Taos Open, Fall Arts Festival, September 2015
2015 Taos Artist Collective, May, June 2015
2015 Taos Select, Taos Fall Arts Festival, September 2015
2015 Millicent Rogers Museum Miniature show, January-February, Taos, NM.
2014 - 2018 Desert Dolphin Art Studio, El Prado, NM
2014 Taos Community Arts, Quick Draw and Auction, Taos, NM
2014 Taos Fall Arts Festival, Taos Open, Our Lady of Guadalupe, Taos, NM
2014 Charles Collins Gallery, Taos, NM
2013, 2012, 2011 Laurie Balliett Fine Art Studio, Eastham, MA
2013 Solo Show: Salt Pond Visitors Center, Cape Cod National Seashore, Eastham, MA
2013, 2012, 2011, 2010 Orleans Medical Center Gallery, East Orleans, featured artist.
2013, 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008 Provincetown Art Association, Provincetown, MA
2013, 2012, Addison Art Gallery, Orleans, MA, Plein Air Paint Out Shows and Receptions
2012, Moab Utah Plein Air Paint Out, Quick Draw, and Group Show, Moab, UT 2012 Dancing Turnip Gallery, Provincetown, MA
2011 Cotuit Arts Center, Cotuit, MA, “Wild Things” Juried Show
2010 Three Fish and a Ram, Mashpee, MA
2010 Solo Show, Rockland Trust Bank: “New Paintings by Laurie Balliett”
2009 Solo Show, Brewster Ladies Library, “High and Low Altitude Landscapes of New Mexico and Cape Cod”
2009 Anna Karin Gallery, Truchas New Mexico, “Taos Paintings”
2009 One World Gallery, Taos, New Mexico, “Mud Season Expressions”
2009, 2008, Cape Cod Art Association, Barnstable, MA, various member shows.
2006, Dairy Center for the Arts, group show, Boulder Colorado



Friday, September 7, 2019

Join us on Saturday, September 7th at 7:00 for a presentation by Bill Liggett, author of Watermelon Snow. The presentation will be followed by an author reception.
       
Deep within the melting Blue Glacier in the Washington wilderness, climate scientist Dr. Kate Landry makes a remarkable discovery. Determined to conceal it from colleagues eager to steal her work, she must somehow distract the behavioral scientist NASA sends to study her team.

From the moment he sets foot on the ice, Dr. Grant Poole finds himself in a strange world of unexpected beauty but fraught with extreme dangers he has tried his whole life to avoid. Greeted with suspicion, he soon realizes Kate is hiding something.

When a mysterious illness strikes her crew and an intense storm engulfs their tiny research station, Kate can no longer shield the truth from Grant. Thrown together in a struggle to survive, they are trapped between keeping Kate’s secret and protecting the lives of thousands, even millions. Their time is running out. Can they find a way to save everyone and still preserve Kate’s discovery?

Fans of Michael Crichton and Robin Cook will enjoy this fast-paced cli-fi novel full of suspense and surprises.


Praise for Watermelon Snow

"Liggett does a first-rate job of building suspense as his story unwinds . . . If you like chill-worthy excitement balanced with cold reality, chances are you’ll like this icy adventure." — Joe Kilgore, US Review of Books

"This novel blends climate science, adventure, and a love story into a true page turner. I appreciated the realism and the detailed portrait of the work that climate scientists engage in. The depiction of the female scientist (main character) was quite realistic and could potentially inspire younger women to pursue science careers." — Jadwiga (Yaga) Richter, Scientist, National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR)


ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Bill Liggett writes fiction that blends behavioral and earth sciences in the new literary genre “cli-fi,” or climate fiction. His goal is to paint a hopeful future, based on solutions to global warming.

He holds a BS in geology and an MA in education, both from Stanford University, and a PhD in applied social psychology from New York University. Among the many positions he has held over the years, he taught in high school and college, conducted behavioral science studies for IBM, and consulted on strategic plans with health care and educational organizations.

Wherever he lives, Bill loves being outdoors.

Home for him has included the West Coast, East Coast, Alaska, and now Colorado, the state of his childhood.

He and his wife, Nancy, live in Boulder, where they enjoy the cultural and academic opportunities of a university community. Between them, they have five children and six grandchildren.

To learn more about Bill’s writing visit:

https://williamliggett.com







Friday September 13, 2019

Join us on Friday, September 13th at 7:00 for a presentation byAnne Parker, author of SECRETS OF SACRED GEOMETRY: Solar Geometry for health and life. The presentation will be followed by an author reception.
       
Secrets of Sacred Geometry: Solar Geometry for Health and Life reveals the secrets of ancient Master Builders from the most ancient civilizations through the Sumerians, Egyptians, and Greek times until it was hidden after the renaissance. No other book was written shares such secret wisdom. Exploring how temples, churches, and other sacred places were built, this book delivers this expertise directly into your hands.

You will be empowered to develop your own harmonious structures with the insights within. Discover the hidden knowledge of the solar mandala and how it was used to build all sacred structures around the world. Not a book to leave on your coffee table; instead, it is an experiential book designed to teach you the skills to build your own structures and experience the energy and secrets of sacred geometry.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Anne Z. Parker Ph.D., author, teacher, and Master Builder is a Professor of Environmental Studies at Naropa University. She is the author of Stories from the Origin and Multi Ethic Interface in Eastern Nepal, co-author of Earth Alchemy, and the forthcoming monograph An Exploration of Sacred Geometry of Stupas in Bhutan. She studies sacred sites internationally and consults on building alignment and site design.






Saturday September 14, 2019

Join us on Saturday, September 14th at 7:00 for a presentation by Stephanie Kane, author of A Perfect Eye. The presentation will be followed by an author reception.
       
Denver Art Museum’s Conservator of Paintings Lily Sparks was born with a perfect eye. When the museum’s billionaire benefactor is brutally murdered, the grisly tableau stuns her: it’s the human embodiment of the museum’s prized landscape by famed Impressionist Gustave Caillebote.

Lily comes to believe the Caillebotte was forged and the killer is a painter the art world spurned. But as she confronts where art ends and fraud begins, she must face the deceptions in her own past.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Stephanie Kane is a lawyer and award-winning author of four crime novels. Born in Brooklyn, she came to Colorado as a freshman at CU. She owned and ran a karate studio in Boulder and is a second-degree black belt. After graduating from law school, she was a corporate partner at a top Denver law firm before becoming a criminal defense attorney. She has lectured on money laundering and white collar crime in Eastern Europe, and given workshops throughout the country on writing technique. She lives in Denver with her husband and two black cats.

Extreme Indifference and Seeds Of Doubt won the Colorado Book Award for Mystery and two Colorado Authors League Awards for Genre Fiction. She belongs to Mystery Writers of America, Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers and the Colorado Authors League. To learn more, visit her website at www.writerkane.com